June 18, 2009

This is how the MLS should look by 2011

There currently 15 teams in Major League Soccer. The teams are divided into two conferences, the Eastern Conference and the Western Conference.

These conferences, in case you couldn't tell, are divided up based on the location of the club. Seven in the East and eight in the West.

This got me thinking that how will the conferences be divided up over the next few years as the league expands by three teams, Philadelphia in 2010, and Portland and Vancouver in 2011.

Philadelphia joining will obviously head into the East, making two conferences of eight teams. But what about when 2011 rolls around?

Well, obviously Portland and Vancouver are both located on the West coast, so they couldn't just split the two teams among the conferences. Instead, realignment will be needed.

And I have come up with the solution.

The Eastern teams are currently:
  • D.C.
  • New England
  • Chicago
  • Kansas City
  • Columbus
  • Toronto
  • New York
The Western teams are currently:
  • Los Angeles
  • Seattle
  • Salt Lake
  • Houston
  • Chivas (LA)
  • Colorado
  • Dallas
  • San Jose
Now, add Philadelphia to the East, (cause that is obvious) and in 2011, add Portland and Vancouver to the West.

To make up for the Wests new teams, looking at geographical locations, it only makes sense to move Houston and Dallas into the East.

This will create two equal conferences of nine teams each.

And 2011 will be great for the MLS. I can't wait to see three teams in the Pacific Northwest competing in professional sports. Go Northwest! And the best part is, the Portland Timbers and Vancouver Whitecaps will create instant geographical rivals.

No comments:

Post a Comment